Today, many young people spend too much of their free time at shopping malls. This can be considered negative for young people and society generally. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people contend about the negative influence of malls to youngters and the general society as they are spending all their spare time in there. The paragraphs below will outline a complete disagreement toward this trend explaining that these centers bring people together and increase friendship and colleague's cycle. To begin with, the main reason why I do not consider that the youth spending too much time in shopping centers represent a threat to them is because malls can gather families and different friends in the same environment and still everyone would have fun. For instance, in my family, my older brother cannot stand football games, so it is impossible to visit a stadium with all of us or at least make it completely enjoyable. However, a mall opens up the possibility for everyone to do something they like, thus bringing everyone together. Furthermore, another cogent motive to justify why I do not believe that youngsters enjoying their whole leisure time in malls is somehow noxious is the role these centers play in introducing new people to others. More specifically, as a place that gathers a myriad of collective entertainment businesses, such as bowling, cinema, theaters and bookstores, it encourage individuals to make friends with strangers just by having similar interests. Therefore, it opens the possibility of meeting new people and developing a lifelong relationship just by crossing one anothe or waiting in the same line. To conclude, I strongly disagree that shopping centers are impacting negatively young people and society since it allows families and friends to have fun and enjoy each other company as well as to meet new people.