It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is evident that some people are extremely gifted in their fields, they learn much faster than others, and the achievements they attain are higher too. There have been debates that whether their success is due to genetic talent or because of hard work. As far as I am concerned, hard work absolutely play a part,, nonetheless it is undeniable that some talents are naturally born. Naturally born talents are ubiquitous. For instance, Michael Jordan, well known as 'the god of basketball', won six NBA championships in recent decades. However, few people know that he has a pair of big hands, which are 26 cm long. These enormous hands do help him control the basketball ball better in both offence and defence and it is discernable that few basketball players possess this natural-born feature. Similarly, in the music world, it is apparent that being able to compose before the age of ten like Mozart is not something that can be taught. Thus, we can clearly say that, genius plays a part here. On the other hand, we do not see natural-born talent as a prerequisite to success, hard work is that recipe instead. Taking Michael Jordan as an example again, during his prime, his body fat was only 4% of his body weight. It is needless to say how harsh he was to himself and he must have stayed in the gym room for very long hours. In my opinion, it is best depicted by the famous saying, "Genius is one per cent inspiration and ninety-nine per cent perspiration." Considering the bigger role of persistent hard work, normal people still can achieve a certain degree of success if they are industrious enough. In conclusion, it is irrefutable that some people are really more gifted in their fields. Nevertheless, normal people can still attain a certain degree of success through a tireless commitment to their careers.