Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that young adults must get involved in the local community without getting paid. While there are several benefits to such activities, these are outweighed by the drawbacks.  Though young people do not receive any kind of direct remuneration, doing volunteer work may help them mentally prepare for the life of an adult. Firstly, teenage volunteers may learn to become more responsible. Most people at these ages are still heavily reliant on their parents and teachers. Therefore, taking part in community work means they are entering a new work environment with little supervision of parents and teachers; in other words, they are given a chance to stand on their own. Furthermore, helping other people can make their lives more fulfilled. It is true that the need to contribute and be recognized is universal and should not be limited to adults, and for teens through community work, this need can be met. However, the benefits appear less significant than the drawbacks. On the one hand, many teenagers are already burned out with schoolwork and homework, which are as demanding as a full-time job. If they are obliged to do unpaid work, this can create a negative impression that their life is nothing but duties. This suggests that the rest of their time should be spent on their hobbies to help them find school-life balance. On the other hand, as students’ time and capacity is still limited, society only gains insignificant benefit from their contribution to community work. What they can support the community at this point may be just some simple paperwork and errands, and two hours of volunteering a week, for instance, is not enough to make a change. In conclusion, though it can benefit young adults to do unpaid community service to some extent, this should not be made compulsory for all.