In some countries many parents are interested in home schooling and the trend is gaining popularity. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Home schooling is increasingly becoming the preferred educational pathway by many parents in different countries. However, in my opinion, the disadvantages of this choice greatly outweighs its benefits. Admittedly, there are a number of advantages associated with home schooling. Firstly, it provides parents with the opportunity to tailor their children's education to their own interests, skills and pace of intellectual developmental. Secondly, children may have more freedom and less stressful learning environment. Thirdly, it provides the family with more flexibility to accomodate the children's education to their life style. For example, home schooling allows families to live in remote areas without having to spend hours commuting to school. Some people would argue that through home schooling the students can have a curriculum more aligned with the family values and beliefs. Nonetheless, traditional schooling is a valuable life experience that shapes the personality and even academic career of the students and, I think, this is mostly due to their interaction with peers and teachers as well. Deprive children from this experience may have many consequences including less opportunities to develop friendships or their interpersonal skills. In this regards, especially the later, is a priceless skill which will equip young generations to cope better with an increasingly multicultural and competitive. Furthermore, the quality of the education at home may fall behind the national curriculum as, I think, academic education can be very challenging for well trained teachers, let alone, for parents without formal qualifications in education. In summary, whilst home schooling can suit the values and priorities of some families, in my opinion, the personal and academic growth of children should come first, and these can be irreversibly impacted through a suboptimal educational system.