Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views about whether children should be educated in collaboration or either contesting with each other. Although competitions can easily show individuals’ abilities, I generally agree that cooperation is the superior measure in teaching. The main reason is that children can be less stressed during the tasks of the corporation. When children work with teammates, they can share their knowledge to complement the others’ insufficient understanding. For example, some children have more science knowledge due to interests while others may have more language abilities based on their backgrounds. Given that, they can exchange their strengths easily. Another reason is that in collaborations, children are forced to discuss with teammates so that they can become more creative through conversations. To be specific, every individual is unique because of their experience; therefore, they may obtain more ideas in the discussions. It could be argued that competition is the best means to teach students because they can explore their abilities further. For instance, in the sports field, competition is essential, and individual behaviour shows the best performance. In addition, competition can force children to focus on their assignments. Since competition emphasizes individual ability, children can only rely on themselves. Furthermore, there are more motivations for competing because all the scores are based on their performance. However, competition may fail when children enter the workplace in the future since society emphasizes harmony. Learning how to cooperate not only improves communication skills but also makes them understand their responsibilities. In these cases, employees with experience in cooperation may be in favour of their bosses. In conclusion, competition may seem important because it can teach students how to be independent. Nonetheless, a corporation is the most effective way to blend in with society.