Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

Commercials have become so ubiquitous that we see them everywhere: in shopping malls, on the Internet, on billboards, and even in movies. In my opinion, the increased prevalence of advertisements is both desirable and negative in equal measure. There are two principal reasons why the increased frequency of advertisements is a change that should be welcomed. First and foremost, some businesses benefit significantly from this means of promotion. When a company is newly launched, it is extremely challenging for it to pay its expenses, stay profitable and support its workers due to poor financial health. So, heavy advertising usually generates huge profits and encourages instant sales growth if done cleverly, thereby helping new enterprises. Secondly, advertising is an excellent tool to inform the public. Were it not for adverts, people would probably not know about new product launches, special deals, discounts and interesting events. From my own experience, I would not be able to purchase my own car at a bargain if I had not come across the ad of an online car store called Avito; in short, commercials can impact our lives in a number of positive ways. Nevertheless, the arguments presented above can be considered from the opposite angle. If we are constantly targeted by companies trying to sell us their goods and services, we are likely to make many unplanned and unnecessary purchases. While the consequences of our actions bring benefits to businesses, our family budget might suffer, especially when the item bought is an expensive one, like a vacuum cleaner or a video camera. Another negative of excessive exposure to ads could be falling victim to low-quality items. This is because companies that are already doing well do not have to advertise to boost their sales, meaning that only new or surviving enterprises tend to use adverts for product promotion. Being unaware of this, it is likely that some people will be dissatisfied with their purchases or experiences. Advertisements being shown to us can certainly be informative as well as profitable for new businesses; however, we should also be careful not to hurt our family budget and make thorough decisions when buying.