Nowadays congestion and Traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be the solution, in our opinion?

In recent decades, there has been a growing issue of traffic jams and crowded roads in most cities. Some believe that making wider roads can solve this issue. I disagree with this statement as it can only get more crowded, and there is not much space for amenities like buildings and pavements for people to walk. I believe that by making more roads and highways, this issue can be solved. People argue that by constructing wider roads, it can reduce the impact of traffic jams. But, this can only result in more problems rather than solving the issue. This is because a largely spaced road would lead to more cars taking this path, making it more crowded and a hassle in the cities. For instance, New Delhi, a state in India where roads are highly crowded, introduced a policy to make the roads wider, which made it more congested rather than solving the issue. Moreover, it creates less space for buildings or roads to be built, leading to more problems in the residential areas. The viable solution to this growing issue is building more roads and highways. This will provide more ways for the car to go, making roads less packed. Moreover, building highways, gives more space for things needed by the common people to be built. For instance, the Butterfly Highway in Tamilnadu, built only to mitigate this issue, has provided the space for parks and buildings to be built. In conclusion, the growing issue of congested traffic jams has been a major and common problem in the cities, and making the roads wider can only worsen the situation. The only solution is to create more roads and highways.