Nowadays many people go shopping in their free time. Shopping has replaced many other activities that people used to choose as their hobby. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Go shopping has become more and more common for people nowadays. For many people, it is considered a hobby. In my opnion, it can lead to bad consequences. This essay will discuss some reasons for this phenomenon and the negative consequences that it can lead us. Regard to the reasons for this, it could be thought the increase in advertising and the fast growth and development of shopping centres. Firstly, the higher use of smartphones and the evolution of social media are leading us to see high levels of ads every day. For example, it is common to look at Instagram for hours a day, and it contains a lot of advertisements. Thus, humans are being stimulated to consume and buy new things more and more. Secondly, shopping centres have become more comfortable and with a lot of facilities currently, for instance, there are some places where parents can let their kids play while they go shopping at the mall. Consequently, it became more easy an funny to go shopping at the mall. In spite of this, using shopping as a hobby can be very negative, because you can spend a lot of money and generate more garbage. Moreover, replacing other activities with shopping can be very unhealthy, because there are no benefits for health on shopping. For example, you could do a sport or read a book instead of buying new things. So using shopping as a hobby can be considered a negative development. To sum up, the reasons for more and more people shopping as a hobby can be the growing levels of advertisement and the evolving of shopping centres and malls, and this might lead to bad consequences for people.