Ambition is seen as an important human quality in many societies today. How important is it to want success in life? Is this a positive or a negative characteristic to have

Societies all over the globe are made better and driven forward by ambitious visionaries. Therefore, the desire to succeed can benefit both individual lives and communities on the whole, and, in moderation, this is a highly positive trait to have. Many beneficial results are brought about when people are determined to achieve success in their endeavours. To start with, virtually all of the great inventions that make our lives more convenient were achieved through hours or even years of toil and hardship. This means that those inventors were rather persistent, and this perseverance was largely fuelled by their extreme willingness to succeed. Edison is a great example who reportedly failed over a thousand times before managing to create a light bulb that worked. Without his success-oriented mindset, we would all be living in total darkness at night. All of the above statements serve to prove that determination to achieve success is indeed a desirable human quality. If not for ambitious individuals, our lives would be radically different in all domains in that most of the industrial and household technologies we take for granted would not exist. As a result, we would still be living in a predominantly agrarian society and even this industry would be far less productive as it would be based on manual labour only. However, if success becomes an unhealthy obsession, one can prioritize work over health and family. This sort of behaviour may lead to overworking and eventually take its toll on the quality of personal and family lives. To sum up, ambition is completely essential in the progress of our civilization as it is the force that yields great breakthroughs, and a healthy amount of it is an incredibly useful human trait that everyone should develop.