Many people think that every individual is responsible for their own healthy lifestyle. Other believe that governments should take care of it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are those who argue that individuals are responsible for their own healthy lifestyles. Others take the view that governments should take care of it. In my opinion, there are both pros and cons to this view, although for quite different reasons. There are many reasons, if you ask me, why the first contention makes sense. For one thing, it is manageable for everyone to take care of their own physical and mental health. To name but one example, we can make decisions about our own diets. Many people consume a lot of junk food these days because they are exposed to fast food adverts on social media. Obesity, diabetes, blood pressure and so on are the result of consuming too many pre-cooked meals made from artificial ingredients. Having a diet based on fish, fruits, vegetables, and nuts can ensure a healthy lifestyle. As a rule, a healthy diet can boost our mood and make us feel happy. In addition, we should allocate more time to playing sports, exercising in the gym, and so on. These things can only be achieved and enjoyed by individuals. Be that as it may, however, there are also reasons why the second argument is good, in my view. Perhaps chief among these is that governments should build more public spaces like parks and squares for men and women to stay fit. This is because many of them in cities live in apartments, and they do not have yards or gardens of their own. Parks, gardens and squares are the main places for them to do outdoor activities. For instance, parents can take their children for a walk and youth can play sports in parks. Seniors can go to squares to do tai chi and hang out with their friends. It stands to reason, therefore, that they will be physically fit and feel a sense of happiness in life. Turning to my own experience, the way things are when it comes to this issue in my country, China, is much the same as it was across the world over. My home city of Lanzhou is a classic case in point. Here, many people have a sedentary life. They drive to work and the upshot is they do not get time for exercise. They also have to work longer hours, which leaves less time for cooking. Accordingly, they eat takeaway meals. In conclusion, there are merits and shortcomings to every choice we make, both as individuals and as a society. There are only certain things like improving infruscture and facilities that can be done by governments to improve people's living conditions.