Prison is the common way most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide the public a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly acknowledged that prison is one of the possible solutions to tackle the crime issue. While some people hold the view that the better way to address this problem is to better educate the public,I completely agree with this idea for various reasons. It is true that sending criminals to jail is an effective method as it can reduce the rate of crime to some extent. This is mainly because whether a short-term or long-term prison sentence could be a deterrent for the public, which can make citizens have to adhere to the laws to avoid serious punishments. Furthermore, more offenders are sent to prison which means a reduction in the crime rate, and this leads to a more safe and more friendly society. Nonetheless, education can be seen as a feasible way to minimise the behaviour of committing crimes. This can be explained that the best way to solve the problem is through prevention rather than only punishing. In other words, prison cannot alleviate the nature of the problem instead of education. Therefore, the government should initiate several awareness campaigns to better educate different generations, including children, young people and adults, to inform them of the negative consequences that can make if they are not abiding by legislation. For example, long-term prison is simply a waste of personal life and is meaningless. Moreover, the record of committing a crime and prison can have adverse effects on their later professional career, personal life and families. In conclusion, although the prison sentence is a good way to alleviate the problem of crime, the importance of better education provided by the government can solve this issue in its essence.