Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an argument by some people that nowadays many individuals no longer observe the reasons behind cultural and religious festivals rather they use this period to only enjoy themselves. However I strongly disagree with this notion. In recent days thoughts are going about suggesting that the population that are partaking in traditional and religious heritage are doing so in order to only have meriments and they do not pay attention to the meaning of the festive period. But I refuse to agree with this idea because up until date cultures and traditions are still one of the important courses that is being taught in schools so children still understand why such occasions hold. Furthermore, the celebration always go hand-in-hand with the norms guiding it. For instance in my in Christmas, people go to church to worship and they also partake in other happy moments in the village square plus the gift they share among themselves depicting love. Another reason why I disagree with the stated opinion is for the fact that people still sacrifices a lot for the sake of the ethics of the land. For example, during new year, a lot of people travel from far and near to celebrate this important event with their relatives and neighbours thereby upholding its value which is unity and Peace. To illustrate further. In my community, those outside of the country come back just to observe the new Yam festival and also they partake in every rituals performed on their special day. In conclusion there is a contentious argument that majority of individuals have abandoned the worth of their cultural and religious beliefs and instead they tend to only have fun among themselves. In contrast, I strongly disagree with such conclusion and the reason for my disagreement is that cultural ethics and norms are still a subject in school up until this day and youngsters have the knowledge about the importance and people also sacrifice a lot to see that they respect the rituals of the country where they originate