The number of older people is increasing. Some people think it will cause problems in their countries, others believe this group is important to the society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is evident that the population of senior citizens is growing with time. There are divisive perspectives regarding this phenomenon. This essay will discuss how this will have detrimental impacts on a country’s economy, how the elderly population will enhance social standards in a community and subsequently, acknowledge that the existence of elderly people is a reward to the society. On one hand, the increasing populace of senior citizens lays an unnecessary burden on governments to allocate additional funds to support their wellbeing. For example, people who are above the age of fifty-five are expected to require more attention in terms of medicine. This implies that financial and health authorities need funds to install more equipment such as ventilators and scanners in hospitals. In addition, financial support is also required to establish more aged care centres across nations to facilitate better living for the elderly who are in need of it. Therefore, it is evident that the surging number of old people can put pressure on governments to preserve their well-being. Conversely, the existence of older individuals can enhance the quality of a community. It is believed that the views and values embedded in senior generations are integral to teaching the progeny the essential principles of good living. For example, they have witnessed society undergo various transformations and withstand crises and catastrophes. Consequently, older citizens are better experienced to impart wisdom to younger generations on cultivating resilience and preserving cultural values, Hence, it is apparent that if the number of ageing individuals rises, the standard of a community will also be improved. In conclusion, it is evident that the expansion of ageing men and women has been a debatable topic. While some contend that this pressurises world leaders to give them more support, others argue that they are quintessential to creating a wiser community. In my opinion, I believe that the more mature a cohort is the more enriched a nation will be.