You should spend about 20 minutes on this task. Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

It is argued that while many old people are living longer, the standard age for people to stop working should be raised significantly. From my point of view, increasing life expectancy can be beneficial. Therefore, I partly agree with the statement. On the one hand, several old people still want to go to work and contribute to their company. For instance, in a recent survey in VietNam, many retired people feel bored and useless when lying at home doing nothing. And an obvious outcome of that is there are more and more job agencies appearing and offering old people jobs which do not require many skills and easily can do it at home. In addition, old people can be financially independent and improve their quality of life with their experience. They will no longer depend on their children or their grandchildren for food, electricity, and water. On the other hand, there are some reasons why they should quit their job at the retiring age. Firstly, health problems are one of the most significant problems. Working in a heavy environment can cause some health problems. To illustrate, my dad who used to work in the metal factory got his hand broken due to unloading metals from the garage. Besides, poor memory and shortsighted vision can reduce productivity. Second, as technology develops fast, more and more modernized machines are created and can improve the productivity of work. Despite the elderly’s experience at work, they can hardly keep up with the requirements of jobs. In summary, increasing the retiring age brings about positive and negative effects. From my perspective, I think we should have a solution to diminish the ramification and create more benefits.