Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people?

Museums and historical locations are explored primarily by tourists and not local residents, the main reasons for this issue are the busy lifestyle and the high price of visiting these places. In addition, a lot of measures can be taken to attract local residents. Full busy schedules have negatively impacted families which leads them to spend their free time away from educational places like museums and historical locations. In other words, most people work more than 8 hours a day, therefore they can not find a balance between jobs and free time to discover historical places. Which can cause a lack of knowledge of basic information about history. Nowadays most museums ’ tickets are slightly high in price, as a result, people will choose to spend their free time shopping or at a fitness gym rather than educating themselves about history. For example, The UK National Museums ’ tickets cost more than 100 Pounds without meals, which leads local residents to replace the visit with a restaurant experience. Measures that can be done to increase the rate of visiting museums and historical sites by local residents are control by government the cost of visiting by giving special offers and encouraging schools to plan for these visits as a part of the educational process.These two methods have a vital and crucial impact on families, for instance, by reducing 50% of the ticket cost with meals more people will find it is a good way to spend money and enjoy their time in museums. Teaching young age students about the culture and traditions in the early stage of life by visiting places that hold a lot of historical events, in future will make them respect these places and try to visit more. In conclusion, policymakers and government need to work together to find methods to raise the number of local residents visiting historical locations, in order to protect the culture and heritage.