Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the Internet is starting to rival newspapers as the best place to find information about what is happening in the world. Although I can see the opposite side, I tend to believe this trend will continue and it will soon be as important as the traditional press. Admittedly, traditional sources are still an important tool to keep abreast of events, especially for many older people. One reason is that they are generally not familiar with that electronic equipment such as smartphones and desktops, suggesting they potentially find it difficult to search for good information online and they arguably do not like reading from a screen. Another reason may well be that the quality and accuracy of online news are variable and frequently untrustworthy. The Internet allows anyone to publish their own writing, which invariably enables the dissemination of misleading and dangerous views. While newspaper articles are usually written by professionals and these traditional sources often pride themselves on impartiality and rigorous fact-checking, therefore producing better quality writing than websites. Nevertheless, I feel, that online blogs and websites will soon become as prevalent as the press for two main reasons. Firstly, it is more quickly and conveniently to access accounts online. By using tablets or other wearable devices, consumers can be connected to twenty-four-hour report sources, leading to them not only being constantly informed but also regarding printed newspapers as old-fashioned and obsolete. Secondly, newspapers and books are gradually published online as well as in print. We can read them in any language from any country in today's world. For example, I have subscribed to a newspaper website for two years, keeping me aware of interesting reports and stories from the comfort of my home. In conclusion, although I agree that the press will remain the main source of news, I believe that the Internet will be equally important.