Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

Exercise plays an important role in every individual’s life, it comes with a package of benefits that includes keeping many diseases at bay. Exercise is recommended by many doctors for elderly people but the majority of patients fail to work out daily. This essay will throw a light on the possible reasons for patients skipping exercise and a few ideas which can motivate them towards physical fitness. To begin with, one of the reasons older people avoid exercising is because many have pain in several joints and nerves which makes them less enthusiastic about working out as it requires energy and hard work. When in pain they feel sick and in turn skip their exercise routine. In addition to that, the other reason is a lack of awareness about the benefits it can provide. Many elderly people are not aware that popular diseases like diabetes can be controlled by regular physical activities. Today there are many health issues like disc bulging and cervical which can be healed faster with daily exercise. To encourage them to exercise daily, there are ways to attract them towards it, one of which is by making exercise fun to do. They should be involved in some light sports activities like badminton which can help to keep them moving. One other way could be making them exercise in groups, they are more likely to exercise when they have someone of the same age around them. It's similar to how a child wants to go to school when he/she has friends. Also, spreading awareness about various diseases that working out can alone heal would be a good motivation for people to exercise. To summarize, older people tend to skip their workout as they prefer rest over exercise and some are just not aware of its advantages, but as per the suggestions mentioned above they can be drawn towards physical fitness in many ways. In addition to that, doctors and health institutions should campaign for awareness and various group exercise sessions.