Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their work place at home, when traveling. Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

After the corona pandemic going to the office is no longer mandatory. The modern infrastructure and development in technology have helped everyone achieve the same. In the forthcoming paragraphs, one is going to discuss the merits as well as demerits and evolve a conclusion from them. Working from home or working while travel has brought a plethora of merits. To begin with, the employees are no longer forced to spend hours travelling to the workplace. Thus, they are not only saving commuting time but it has helped them balance their work-life and personal life. Additionally, folks are saving money that they are required to spend on fuel. For instance, if one is driving the car to the workplace then on average is saving $10 for 5 km they are driving. On the contrary, Is it possible for the network person to monitor each and every activity outside the access point? The answer is No! Hence, flexibility leads to a major security threat. Since the computers are being used outside of trusted networks, there is a possibility for the device to be infected with a virus. For example, while the majority of the companies restrict the usage of 3rd party applications on their devices, since the employees are working from outside of the office environment such restrictions are hard to impose; users may end up downloading applications that can corrupt the data. To conclude, the purpose of technological enhancement is to provide comfort and ease. However, one needs to be careful otherwise one may end up in a trouble.