Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this modern era, the rate of crimes has been rising at an alarming rate. Certain people consider that punishment should be kept fixed for each category of crimes while others argue that situations and reasons for committing crimes also need to be taken into consideration before deciding on the punishment. This essay will decipher both views and pros and cons in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence with, fixed punishment would be a great notion for any kind of crime because in the future offenders will be already known the kind of punishment which they will get if that crime was committed. For instance, countries like Saudi and Dubai have low-index crime rates mainly due to these established punishment orders. To cite an example, in Dubai, for drug trafficking, offenders will be captivated in prison for at least 10 months without light. As a result of these permanent punishments, crime rates and the drug mafia are less in Dubai. On the other hand, fixed punishment has detrimental effects on people who are committing any sort of crime to secure themselves from that criminal activity. Furthermore, families of that offenders are also get affected by this fixed punishment. Hence, the situations and motivations for committing crimes should also be taken into consideration before giving punishment. For instance, in India, a 16-year-mature girl killed her uncle to save her life. The court has declared that she has not committed any mistake consequently she can be released from prison since her motto is merely to save her life that culprit. In conclusion, I believe that both types of retribution must be followed in the country. Judgment should be given to the criminals based on their motto and as well as the background of their criminal history.