In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

After finishing schooling, young individuals nowadays prefer living away from their parents and in many nations, they often live with their friends on a sharing basis. I vehemently espouse that this is certainly a positive approach to make them self dependent and maintain privacy of their life. To begin with, self dependent behavior has not become famous among youngsters for no reason. To explain, a survey conducted by the Guardian Newspaper in March 2015 revealed that 65% of young people were keenly interested in living separately from their parents because they felt a sense of self dependency at the time of staying with friends. Hence, this trend may provide them enough chances to deal with day to day issues without parents' help. In addition, since young people require a certain level of privacy in their life, they may feel freedom to do anything in their life without any restrictions and this will lead them to a better life ahead. On the other side, a number of people raise a concern about their relationship with parents because staying with friends can restrict them from opening up in front of parents which may bring bad communication and low level of bonding with their parents. Moreover, security issues are tremendously higher while staying out with friends for young people. As if young people live with their parents, they do not need to worry about their safety. Thus, 13000 cases in the year of 2017 in the USA, such as robbery, rape and molestation have been reported by the Department of Police with young individuals who opted residing with friends than with parents. To conclude, it is unequivocal that such a phenomenon of living away from parents to stay with friends on a sharing basis is conducive for young people to be independent and live their life with no interference. Hence, this is indeed a positive development.