Advertising is all around us, it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is a negative one. Discuss both views and include your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, advertisement is all around us, from leaflets that we occasionally receive walking across streets to advertisements that pop up on websites. For some may be a way to be introduced to something new, while others may think it is misleading. To begin with, publicity can be argued to be positive as they allow startups to increase their exposure in the public’s eye. Yet, some argue that through advertising, we can understand the benefits of a product and will allow us to make the correct decision. For example, when a cosmetic brand advertises its latest foundation they often state the strength of the product. Such as the ability to cover up dark circles, by stating the characteristics of their own product, allows consumers to choose carefully and make the smartest choice. In addition, the use of efforts could put in a horror sense, for reading adverts we could develop our understanding on current trends, as well as discovering new goods and services available in the market. On the other hand, some argued that publicity is misleading and could lead to irrational choices, hence a negative part of our lives. For instance, companies may exaggerate the benefits of specific products. One example would be dietary products. Firms may emphasise the regular intake of the dietary product within a week allows them to lose more than 2 kg. However,in reality, it's impossible and unhealthy to lose a huge amount of weight in a short period of time. Nevertheless, side effects of dietary products are usually avoided in advertisements. As a result, consumers may be misled to believe that there are no side effects, which poses a risk to their health. In conclusion, although advertisements may be beneficial in terms of introducing us to the latest items, these misleading advertisements may lead to the waste of money or worse, health issues. Hence, the drawbacks of advertisements overtake its strength.