Some people think that living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what some extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the issue of detrimental influence on health caused by residing in megacities has gained significant attention. I would contend that I am an advocate of this notion. It is obvious to note that air pollution in metropolises can pose a great threat to residents’ respiratory systems. This is due to the fact that polluted air, stemming from a myriad of factors such as emissions released from vehicles or the combustion of fossil fuels, can cause asthma problems or even lung cancers which do great damage to inhabitants’ health. For instance, a recent report showed that Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, is recorded as the first rank city in air contamination level in the whole world. Hence, inhabiting metropolitan areas can have a harmful impact on citizens’ well-being due to the contaminated air. While the adverse effect of living in urban areas is widely acknowledged, it is undeniable that the authorities in megacities have put effort into applying considerable protective measures for the residents’ health. The explanation for this is that the healthcare systems in these places are invested in with a great amount of money to be equipped with top-notch facilities and modern medical technologies. To be more specific, medical centers such as Hanoi Medical University Hospital, or Bach Mai Hospitals can be cited as compelling instances for leading hospitals that are entrusted by many Vietnamese people to take care of their health. Therefore, it is evident that maintaining inhabitants’ well-being is of necessity to the state. In conclusion, although contaminated air in urbanized area can act as a disturbance to people’s welfare, it is essential to recognize the attempt to protect the citizens by the governments.