Some people think the news has no real connection to people’s lives, so reading newspapers or watching news programs on television is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree?

The mass media has been a significant means of disseminating information globally, although a few people opine that the news has no real interaction with the lives of individuals therefore paying attention to a news reports is a waste of time. I disagree with this opinion because the news plays a significant impact on people's lives and the reasons behind my opinion will be discussed in this essay. To start with, a key information usually disseminated in the news is the availability of job vacancies in either government or non-governmental organisations and getting a sustainable source of income is a significant part of human life. For example, In Nigeria, most government job adverts are published in the newspapers and magazines therefore failure to read such will make people lose employment opportunities. This depicts that there is a connection between people's life and the news. In addition to that, trending national issues such as security are made known in the news. Not listening to the news and being up-to-date as regards these issues will put people's lives at risk. For instance, in Nigeria, terrorism is a major challenge facing some parts of the country, not having knowledge of the security situation in the affected communities will make ignorant citizens victims of the terrorist attacks. The safety of human life is ensured when they pay adequate attention to the news reports in the mass media. In conclusion, the news has an important interaction with human life because information regarding job opportunities and security are announced in the news. Therefore rapt attention should be paid to the news because it has an essential influence on people's lives.