Some people think that the role of parent is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nature their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up in. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is often believed by some folks that parents should be the role of disciplining and teaching their children about what’s right and what’s wrong. Whereas, others oppose and claim that parents ’ main job is to allow their children to grow up naturally and provide them with a safe environment simultaneously. Firstly, this essay will discuss the pros and cons of both views in detail, and lastly, state the opinion partially in favour of the notion based on various reasons. First of all, the major pros for parents to be the role of disciplining and teaching their children, is that children will be able to form their core values of life rapidly, which, will consequently help them build up relationships with other strangers and be into the social environment easily. To exemplify that, since parents have taught their children about the world to some extent, children can make the judgment on who can be a good friend and who can only be a stranger, which possibly would avoid them from being hurt by bad people. However, excessively discipline will make children depend on their parents too much. For example, parents give their opinions on many things so that children are capable of solving the problems. But when children have grown up and become an employee, they may still need their parents ’ opinions on some childish stuff. Secondly, allowing parents children to grow up on their own makes them be more independent. Under that situation, children will be able to mature earlier, they will have the capability of dealing with a great amount of stuff by themselves and therefore be more successful when they are in the society at first. For example, when such types of children become adults, they clearly will know how to work, where to move, where to work, etc. In other words, they can make their plans more reasonably. However, they also lack the ability to think about others, which may lead to fewer friends they can make and cause their loneliness. For instance, Sherlock Holmes was a genius detective that can solve mysterious cases on his own, but due to a lack of emotional intelligence, he only had a few friends. Therefore, from my perspective, it is workable for parents to make children grow up independently. But at the same time, children are weak physically and mentally, so parents need to provide their children with a safe environment while teaching them part of things that are necessary. To conclude, both views are not 100% perfect. It will be better to link them based on practice and let children grow up independently while providing them with a physically and mentally safe environment at the same time. And with that, children can grow up more healthily and maturely.