Childhood obesity is becoming a problem thoughout the developed world . Because of this , some people think that adverts for fast food , sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in schools and colleges . To what extent do you agree or disagree with this ?

It is often argued that consumption of junk food should be restricted in academic institutions as it is one of the leading cause of obesity in children nowadays. I completely agree with this fact that, with the ban of fast and sugary eateries in the schools and colleges this problem can be mitigated. In the recent years, there has been a gradual rise in the number of the children who are suffering from the obesity due to consumption of fast food. This has further led to many health related issues such as diabetes, blood pressure and psychological problems in the pupils. To illustrate, in a survey conducted in France the pupils who consumed healthy food in the school fell less sick as compared to those who prefer preffered sweet and sugary snacks. Therefore, with the restriction on intake of junk food in schools and universities the prevelance of these diseases in the children can be prevented. Nevertheless, teachers are the best mentors who can guide the students to live a healthy life. If unhealthy eateries won't be allowed in the study institutions, the pupils can be motivated and taught by their professors and guides to opt for healthy food and its benefits. For instance, nowadays in India many schools have put a complete ban on the consumption of junk and processed food and are encouraging children to bring specifically home made food for better growth and develpment of the students. Hence, with the motivation from the teachers pupils can be guided to follow good eating habbits. To conclude, in the present times obesity in children is one of the major problems advancing in most of the nations. However, this issue can be addressed, if the use of junk food will not be allowed in the schools and the colleges by making students aware of benefits of nutritious food and therefore further prevalance of health related problems can be decreased.