People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

It is undoubtedly true that people living in metropolitan cities nowadays face a plethora of issues in their daily lives. The biggest problem is that the increasing population moving to the city leads to many major problems such as crime and poverty. To tackle this dilemma, the government should plan meticulously before encouraging people to move to smaller areas. Overpopulation in a big city is usually caused by a movement from another smaller city that looking for opportunities in the city centre, including getting a better education, having a professional job in a large company or opening their own business for a large market. Consequently, high demand for housing causes the rising price of properties. Some people might be unable to afford to have a place to live and that leads to crime and poverty. For example, in the capital city of Indonesia, Jakarta, many people who live in a poor area mostly come from outside Jakarta, and thus usually people who fail to get opportunities as they planned before coming to the capital city. To fix these issues, some action can be taken such as providing equal job opportunities to smaller regional towns and of course affordable transportation to commute. If the root of the problem is because of many opportunities and easiness available in the city, the authority should give the same as it is in the big city to prevent movement. In conclusion, while encouraging people to move to a smaller city can be a suitable solution to decrease problems people encounter in a big city, it would be counterproductive to ask them to move without planning the next step meticulously.