Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is mainstream that sports brands marketed their products through sports players’ endorsements. While it seems to contribute to some benefits which may prosper the economy, I assume that the drawbacks are far more than the advantages. On the one hand, it is indisputable that collaborating with sportsmen is beneficial for the sports industry which can increase greatly public awareness of those brands and players. In other words, there are increasing chances for people to acquire any information about goods from these spokespeople; therefore, this would motivate them to develop a good health style by doing exercise. Micheal Jordan, an ambassador of a famous sports brand, becomes a motivation for many teenagers who dream of becoming great basketball players. On the other hand, although it brings about positive developments for some people, it results in many problems for society. From the public’s perspective, since too many companies use the same way to advertise their products, it is too rampant that individuals will get tired of them and find them unattractive anymore. From companies’ perspective, it is less effective and efficient that they spend plenty of money on sports celebrity endorsements while other companies also use the same strategy and even use the same celebrity. On top of that, when there are any mistaken messages, it would cause a bad reputation for brands as well as the spokesperson which will influence greatly consumers’ attitudes toward sports. In conclusion, it seems to be a great idea to have famous sports players advertise goods. However, when there are too many businesses using the same method, it would cause numerous negative impacts on the industry.