Bullying is a big problem in many schools. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whether one lives in a small town in America or a big city in the UK, bullying can be found in almost every school. Children who are bullied may be subjected to taunting, aggression, and ultimately isolation leading to long-term psychological damage. Despite widespread awareness, the problem persists for various reasons. Importantly, bullying is commonly started by an individual within a group of children to a student outside the established group. This creates a culture of validation, where children in the group act as bystanders, passively allowing the actions of the instigator. After some time, they may even support their actions, isolating the victim. Additionally, once parents are notified of the situation, the bullies - fearing repercussions - lie to their parents to avoid punishment. The parents defend their child and the cycle continues becoming more and more severe. Ultimately, parents want to believe that their children are good, despite evidence to the contrary. Together, the actions of the parents and the students contribute to a toxic culture. Of course, disrupting this culture of validation of bullying is of paramount importance to protect students from bullying and prevent psychological damage. While there are some programs that target students in school and encourage them to foster healthy environments, these are few and far between. It is important to increase the frequency of these campaigns and target all schools early. Furthermore, targeting of children must be supplemented with education of parents and teachers so that proper interventions can be started early. Finally, effective intervention also relies on media support. Films and music must also depict healthy relationships between children to support programs outside of school environments. In conclusion, bullying exists in many schools due to societal acceptance of toxic behaviours. Early prevention with a targeted campaign to educate children and parents both in and outside of these institutions may decrease the rate and severity of bullying.