In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children are always seen to be the generation that could potentially change the world. And with such types of ideas, some parents in some cultures often encourage their offspring that they can achieve anything as long as they try it hard and consistent enough. Generally speaking, it is understandable for parents to claim that, however, there may be some possible risks that can't be seen at the moment. In this essay, we will discuss its pros and cons of it. First and foremost, it is sometimes necessary and important for parents to stimulate their offspring to try new stuff, which can help scion build up their confidence, and offer them the courage to try and create. To exemplify that, Zhou Guanyu, the first Chinese Formula One driver in the world, dreamt about playing football in the future. At that time he didn't dare to sit in a racing car, not to mention try driving. It was his father that gave him the courage and made him believe that he had the ability and possibility of driving a racing car. And now he has become one of the greatest drivers in the world. Therefore, encouragement is important and sometimes necessary. However, on the other hand, excessive encouragement would make offspring overestimate themselves, and have some unrealistic illusions about themselves, which may lead to countless damage to them physically and mentally. For instance, Billy Beane is now a baseball general manager. He was told that he could be a brilliant baseball player in the future. But due to the over-encouragement from his parents and scouts, he failed finally and could not walk out of the shadow for a long time. Although he still had become a famous manager now, it is vital to note that, how destructive excessive encouragement may cause to a child. To conclude, offering scion some praise is necessary and beneficial at some moments, but we need to do this realistically and properly. With the appropriate combination of these two elements, our offspring can be the generation.