Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Currently, there are many children who spend more time on their smartphones. The main reasons for such behaviour are wanting to find distractions and escaping from reality. In my opinion, such an action cultivates negative habits in them. As technology develops drastically, it has become much easier for children to have access to phones and get drawn into them. They feel that the online world has ways to soothe their feelings and can escape from reality. For instance, a child may be bullied at school and unable to express their emotions. Once they use the device, there are distractions such as cartoons or playing games with others instead of trying to solve the problem. For these reasons, some children tend to spend more time on their phones rather than doing other activities.  Even though mobile phones can entertain children in various aspects, it does reinforce negative trend in them. When children spend a long while on their phones, they start to lose touch in face-to-face interaction and that can hinder their communication skills. For example, kids who interact with people of different ages through actual verbal conversation can develop eloquence and express themselves better compared to those who don't. Furthermore, it can deteriorate the relationship between parents and children as there is a lack of communication. There is no doubt why it brings more setbacks than benefits. In conclusion, some children like to spend more while on their smartphones compared to others. Although it can bring them entertainment and serve as a gateway from reality; meanwhile, it does implement adverse effects including lack of interaction with parents, unable to overcome challenges and lower verbal communication.