Band 7 Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people state that learning a foreign language is beneficial only for travelling or working abroad, while others claim that this is not the only purpose a foreign language should be learned for. As far as I am concerned, learning a foreign language develops an individual’s linguistic and social abilities and may also be crucial when travelling or working abroad. This essay will discuss the importance of speaking a foreign language when travelling abroad, and the diversity of reasons why it is essential for one’s personal development. To begin with, a person who is willing to visit a certain country and does not speak a worldwide spoken language or that country’s national language will not be able to fit in. In fact, people should learn a foreign language in order to adapt themselves to a new working environment, if they are looking forward to working in another country, or to properly communicate with other individuals. For instance, a study shows that the percentage of people who started to learn a foreign language significantly increased due to their desire to immigrate to a foreign country to work or just travel abroad. On the other hand, it is argued that a foreign language can be learned for a diversity of reasons. Moreover, it was shown that it develops people ’s creativity and originality, and also enriches their vocabulary. Clearly, individuals perceive this activity as an essential way of improving their social abilities. As an example, a magazine published an article about the ease society has when talking to foreigners. People are able to engage themselves more rapidly in conversations due to the fact that they learned a foreign language that permit them to speak with more efficiently to others. In conclusion, a foreign language should not be learned only for working or travelling purposes, but also for self-development. I consider that it is vital for a person to learn a new language in order to properly communicate with anyone.