Some people think that only electric cars should be allowed on the streets by 2040. Do you agree?

The usage of electric vehicles is constantly rising these days. A few people share the opinion that by the year 2040 no regular cars should be driving on the roads anymore. I partly agree because in my opinion, it makes sense to ban them from the downtown areas but not from roads in general. Firstly, of course, a huge positive factor of a development like this would be the effect on our environment. The reduction of the pollution caused by regular gas or diesel cars would be enormous. Especially in big cities like Tokyo where the air is so highly polluted that people need to wear face masks to avoid inhaling the smog. This is why prohibiting non-electric automobiles in city Centers is a relatable goal for the future. But where is see an issue is to ban regular cars from every other street. Electric cars are known for their minimal range what is ultimately leading to the fact that people have to charge them around every 350 kilometres. Furthermore, it will take up to one hour or more to recharge. This might not appear as a problem in the city where you can leave your car at a special charging station while you go shopping. But it will be an unpleasant experience when you are heading on a road trip that will take 1000 kilometres. Developing a network of charging stations not only in cities but also in rural areas might solve this issue. Although it is questionable if this is possible until 2040. In conclusion, I believe that banning regular cars from cities is useful due to the environmental aspect. Despite this fact, a lot of development has to happen for electric vehicles and the surrounding network to make it a plausible goal for the roads in general in the near future.