Demand for gas and oil is going up so finding new resources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Searching for fossil fuels in remote areas is not a new phenomenon. But, in recent times, this trend has gained momentum, thanks to rising in demand. However, there are both merits and demerits in locating gasoline and petroleum in such places. There are several benefits to locating fuel in the countryside. The most remarkable positive of this is that it would assist in meeting the country’s needs. To elaborate owing to the rising demand of the population, seeking fuel for basic needs for the individual is a high priority. Last, but far from the least, extraction of these resources away from densely populated areas means, in the event of potential accidents human loss would be significantly less. On the other hand, the potential liabilities involved in unearthing crude oil from far away locations can barely be overlooked. The major setback from this is it can create a catastrophic impact on biodiversity. To illustrate, the oil extraction process usually occupies a large amount of land and needs infrastructure such as access roads, pipelines, processing facilities and waste disposal storage. As a result, a number of wildlife habitats get destroyed. Furthermore, crude oil wells usually emit large quantities of carbon dioxide which increases heat in the atmosphere thus leading to climate change. And that is not all, uneventful attempts of finding fuel reserves would still require large sums of money to restore the place to prevent it from flooding. Therefore on the basis of all points discussed till now and by my personal experiences, I would like to state the conclusion that, since the negatives outnumber and outweigh perceived positives and also the negatives are too perilous to be ignored, discovering gasoline at new places is indeed not as meritorious as it often made out to be.