In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays the number of overweight people is constantly growing. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this epidemic and then describe the possible effects of the issue. In my opinion, the foremost causes of obesity are inactive lifestyles and unhealthy eating habits. Firstly, more and more people rely on cars instead of walking, have less physical demands at work and prefer inactive leisure activities while causing fewer calories burnt and gaining weight. Moreover, the obstacle is accentuated by the growing number of people, who eat irregularly and consume large portions of high-calorie food. For example, about 50% of the adult population in Europe with so-called disordered eating suffer from obesity. However, there are some possible effects of this issue including physical health problems and loss of productivity. First of all, fatness results in incorrect functioning of the human body and contributes to the risk of developing some chronic illnesses. For example, as body fat percentage increases, the person’s metabolism worsens, which in turn may result in diabetes or heart disease. Secondly, overweight people are very unhealthy and often suffer from stress and tiredness. This lessens their work capacity and outcome in lower productivity. For example, it has been proven that an obese person needs to put more effort to complete some tasks than a person of normal weight. To sum up, a heavyweight is a big problem that affects a lot of people nowadays. It’s mainly caused by an inactive lifestyle and eating disorders and results in severe health problems and loss of productivity.