Do the positive effects outweigh negative effects, when advertising gains popularity?

In this day and age, advertisements are becoming more popular and playing an indispensable role in our modern society. In my view, this trend could have positive and negative consequences in equal measures. On the one hand, the popularity of advertising is advantageous in some aspects. To be more specific, it is undeniable that advertisements facilitate customers’ access to new products, which provides them with an extensive diversity of choices. In other words, people from any classes of society can approach goods which meet their demands but still suit their own budget. Additionally, advertising makes a substantial contribution to boosting product sales, and therefore bringing huge profits for manufacturers. For instance, thanks to the advent of advertisements on mass media such as commercials on TV during prime time, a new version of a smartphone manufactured by Oppo became so widely – known that it was sold out in just a few days. On the other hand, I would argue that the disadvantages of advertising are worth mentioning. The first one is that advertisers tend to exaggerate goods’ effectiveness, which makes purchasers confused and misguided by misleading information. For example, many cosmetics brands convince customers that their products have significant whitening effects thanks to organic ingredients such as herbs, but in fact, the quality is not as effective as expected. Furthermore, celebrity endorsement has negatively affected customers, especially teenagers. This can be illustrated by the case of many fashion commercials which use the image of Korean idols with perfect body figures, and this results in the sense of inferiority complex. Consequently, they may go on a diet without proper instructions. In conclusion, due to numerous aforementioned reasons, this tendency has posed both beneficial and detrimental influences on individuals as well as the whole economy.