Global warming is one of the biggest threats to our environment. What causes global warming? What solutions are there to this problem?

The predominant issue threatening our environment is the rising temperature of the Earth. This essay will highlight the key reasons for this, as well as discuss two solutions to tackle this problem. The reason for global warming can be attributed to increased carbon emissions in the last fifty years. This rise in greenhouse gases is primarily due to easier access to vehicles, like cars or planes, which can be held responsible for increasing the carbon footprint. For instance, air travel is more accessible to most individuals due to cheaper tickets, resulting in an increased number of flights. This leads to massive carbon dioxide generation. In addition to this, another widely acknowledged cause is burning fossil fuels. This is done to generate energy for various purposes, such as factories. If coal is not burnt, there will be no generation of harmful gases. For example, a survey conducted by Pew Research Centre established that 50% of the carbon emissions in the USA is due to the practice of utilizing fossil fuels for energy production. These problems can be effectively mitigated by strategies reducing carbon emissions. Firstly, energy can be produced using different sources, like Nuclear Power, which is a clean, green fuel. To illustrate, countries like Sweden which invested in nuclear technology decreased their carbon gas generation by 50% in the last decade. Secondly, public transportation infrastructure can be improved for convenience, resulting in people preferring to commute via metro or bus instead of their personal vehicles. To exemplify, the majority of the people in Tokyo, Japan commute to work using the metro, owing to their superior public transport network. This has led to a significant reduction in the pollution that is caused by cars. In conclusion, global warming is caused by increased greenhouse gases, which are generated because most people own cars and use them on an everyday basis. Additionally, fossil fuels are burnt for energy production which further contributes to this. To solve this problem, we can introduce an alternative source of energy production as well as improved public transit facilities. This will reduce the carbon footprint, which will be beneficial in reducing global warming.