Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think it is a positive or negtive development?

There is a fact that a large number of time teenagers will spend on their smartphones in their daily life. There are various reasons why children are addicted to scrolling on their phones, and I believe there are more drawbacks than benefits. There are many reasons why young teenagers indulge in the world of smartphones. Firstly, smartphones enable them to log in to those platforms to communicate and interact with their friends when they might don’t have a permit to go out for fun. Applications like Instagram, Snapchat and Telegram allowed young children to stay updated with their peers and share every moment of their own lives easier. Secondly, the content available on smartphones is intentionally designed to be attracting and addicting for those people who don’t have too much self-control, especially teenagers. Self-discipline is a kind of ability children usually don’t have because they don’t have a long time of training. If they are attracted, it is hard to stop. In my opinion, this phenomenon will have a lot of negative effects on children. A young person who stays in the same place and focuses on a small screen all day may cause unhealthy results such as myopia and spine disease. Meanwhile, students’ performance in school in their subject can also be affected if valuable study time were taken by social media and mobile games. Having such an unhealthy body and bad grades will damage a child’s future development. In conclusion, teenagers, who need friends and can’t have self-control, may be addicted to smartphones, and it will have a negative effect on their future prospects.