Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Other believe that they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, experts often opt to immigrate to foreign countries for better career paths. However, there is the belief that they should work in the country training was done while others say they should have the freedom to choose another country they wish to work. Both views will be tackled throughout the essay. On the one hand, people believe professionals should be required to their mother country due to one’s obligations to serve their home. Most often, governments and other organizations impose on these professionals that it is their obligation to do so when in fact, it is not. Each country’s government should put more effort into passing laws for much more reasonable wages, more benefits, and a suitable working environment in order for these professionals to seek greener pasture overseas. Given that the economy will be affected, these professionals will suffer much more should they be forced to stay. On the other hand, professionals seeking to move abroad are often due to personal financial reasons and further career growth. In developing countries, such as the Philippines, almost all are taken for granted and wages are close to the minimum wage. In particular, most nurses in the Philippines mostly migrate to the US or other European countries because the income is tenfold and they feel safer working because of the more ideal working place. Not only that, their overall view of themselves will be improved because of a more suitable working environment and less stress. Each person should be given the right to choose where they practice, even if it is abroad. To summarize, professionals are required to stay because they are given the obligation to work for the nation. While this has grave effects on the economy, I believe that these people should be able to work wherever they choose.