The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are advantage and disadvantages to having one language In the world?

Due to the tourism industry expansion English is a widely spoken language in the world. Some show concern that this trend eventually would become the only dialect to communicate amongst nations. This essay will describe the benefits and drawbacks of using English as the only way to connect globally with suitable illustrations. While having a solitary global dialect, on the one hand, promotes understanding and globalisation, this also increases economic cooperation worldwide. To illustrate, language barriers will diminish; whereby using a single dialect around the globe provides an infinite number of possibilities for international trade such as two trade international partners can connect directly to sharing goods and services without any intermediate which enhances the transparency of the system. Therefore, for facilitating communication and making trade easier and transparent between different countries’ businesses, English can be accepted as the only way of speech. On the other hand, lack of innovation in the communication process and loss of local dialects could be considered potential drawbacks as the popularity of speaking English as a universal language due to the development of the tourism sector. The innovation and growth of language will stop by using a more technical and impoverished language even for non-native speakers, for example, the Eskimos, who have several words for “snow” because they need it. As a consequence, minority languages and local dialects will fade away; thereby losing the cultural identities and heritage of local communities. To conclude, although communication via a single language all around the world would promote global culture and support economic conditions amongst countries, it is argued that the disadvantages of this aspect outweigh the benefits as local dialects will extinct due to a lack of creativity in language development.