Some say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that leisure activities occupy more part of people's daily life than sports. In my opinion, sports have a significant role to play in society and their impact on society is largely positive. Some people consider playing and watching sports as a means of spending leisure time with friends and family only. They believe that the importance that is attached to sports, nowadays, is exaggerated and sports should only be treated as light-hearted fun among friends. They reason by claiming that sports have minimal impact on society and other occupations like doctors, engineers and lawyers are worth more and, therefore, the amount of attention that is garnered by sports and sportsmen should be diverted to these other professions that truly positively impact the society. Moreover, they do not consider any sports as worthy enough to be taken up as a profession because it is nothing more than a leisure activity in their eyes. Most people, however, acknowledge the important role that sports play in society. Engaging in sports helps to build a sense of competition and work ethic from an early age. Team sports, in particular, help in improving teamwork and cooperation among teammates which is an important skill that will help an individual in the long run. Furthermore, sports serve to improve the health and fitness of a community, in general. For instance, proud sporting nations like Newzealand have a healthy and fit population due to the emphasis on sports in the country. Indeed, sports also serve as a means of uniting the masses in a country and igniting patriotism in the population. For instance, during a world tournament, like the FIFA world cup, people of all ethnicities and races join together to celebrate a win. It is no secret that playing and watching sports is also a way to release stress and improve mental well-being. These positive impacts of sports on society are a testament to the importance of sports in society, although, some people continue to belittle its significance in society. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that sports have quite an important role in society and its positive impact on people and society is widely evident throughout the world. Therefore, engagement in sports should be encouraged and facilitated by governments around the world.