People in some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important. Why might this be the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

According to certain people, living in a temporary house is preferable to owning one in some countries. In this essay, I will discuss why renting can allow for a more flexible lifestyle but why it can eventually be financially disadvantageous. One of the reasons for renting a house is that people who live far away can stay near their office or school. For those individuals who have jobs in certain areas and need temporary accommodation closer to work or students who want to live in the university environment, for example, they can save on time because people no longer need to commute or drive for several hours. Moreover, whenever they finish their duties, they can move whenever they want without worrying about selling the house. Having a convenient place to dwell is a crucial advantage of renting. On the contrary, renting a home long-term can cause inefficiency costs. For instance, the tenants must pay the building maintenance or flat bill for electricity or gas even though they do not use much. Another risk is that the landlord or the property management might increase the rent rate every time, which causes a problem for people who do not have permanent jobs or are unemployed. Renting a house can cause financial issues for some people if they live for extended periods. Therefore, owning the home is more profitable in this case. In conclusion, renting a house offers flexibility in some aspects, while buying a house is more cost-efficient for long-term periods. I prefer buying a home rather than renting it to make a good investment when I retire.