Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling if for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is important to consider how much each and every household recycle on a daily basis. While some people suggest that the recycling of domestic waste be mandatory, others argue that people should be taught first about the ways of recycling. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument while I support the latter opinion. On the first hand, recycling household waste should be made mandatory by making it a legal obligation. The reason for this is that it will instil a habit in the minds of people to recycle their daily waste in fear of fines and penalties. To illustrate this point, whenever he fails to recycle his household waste, a person should be charged a hefty fine as a result of breaking a few legal requirements. In contrast, if these laws are not incorporated in the times ahead, people would no longer understand the essence of recycling and its importance. As a result, making our world more polluted. On the other hand, I would argue that this would be seen as a bit of tyranny, rather the government should educate its citizens about the benefits of recycling. To illustrate, the government can create awareness camps about possible ways of recycling through radio and television, enabling a plethora of people to learn and understand what benefits it offers largely. On the contrary, if people are not educated enough about the advantages of these methods, our planet would succumb to greenhouse gases and pollution, thereby making our planet unfavourable for our survival. In conclusion, though penalizing its citizens for not recycling enough can make our planet a bit greener, I think, it is important that the government should educate them with regard to the means and benefits of recycling. Imposing fines and penalties should be considered as a last option.