News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Mostly, news editors decide what should be shown in media, whether it could be television or newspapers. It is true that news directs the focus of people around the world. This statement is discussed with own ideas, experiences with examples. It is true that news influences readers and viewers. The public is mostly attracted to negative news. This is because news has been used as a major distraction in people's life. For a scientific reason, human minds are attracted more to bad news, which helps them to occupy throughout the day. But, It is one of the main reasons, humans life are not in calm or peaceful situation. They have been built as peaceful and joyful beings. However, due to these external factors, humans lose their inner peace and joy. Therefore, news editors are forced to include negative articles in their publications or scripts since they could attract many subscribers and viewers. For example, There was a small incident between two individuals in one of the villages in Sri Lanka, since both of them were drunk on the specified date. But, news has released articles or telecasts showing the names of two victims who are from different religions, which has resulted in negative turmoil in the country. There were a few other incidents that occurred in the country as revenge for this incident. On the other hand, when news editors release positive articles or videos, they could improve the quality of the life of people. For example, whenever, there is news about an individual's or country's achievement in sports or on various other occasions, it could send positive vibes among people. In my own experience, when the Sri Lanka cricket team wins a match or series,newspapers and tv channels send out positive news all around the island. Subsequently, the whole population celebrate in their respective locations. In summary, news media should release facts whether it is negative or positive. However, news media should sugarcoat negative news or use euphemisms in order to reduce the intensity of the issues. Further, news media also should find much positive news occurring in the country or around the world to help people to have a positive life.