Public celebrations( such as national days, festivals, etc) are held in most countries. Theses are often quite expensive and some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things Do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that the government in many countries should not waste a lot of money on public celebrations as it should be invested in more convenient things. I partially agree with this, for money should be spent to improve the life of people regardless of the importance of celebrations to increase the awareness of their own cultures. On the one hand, the government should spend money on celebrations, which can promote the understanding of cultures and traditions. In other words, national festivals play a significant role in raising the awareness of rituals and old customs as many people especially young adults are more ignorant of their own backgrounds. For instance, celebrating children's day in Japan has been successful in letting them know about a traditional food called "kashiwamochi" that they eat to maintain their health. Even though the government spends more than a million yen hosting this national event, more children are encouraged to respect such a traditional lifestyle and think about their connections with their ancestors, which is also beneficial to prevent tradition from disappearing. On the other hand, public funds should be invested in other important areas that directly impact people's lives. For example, there are the growing demands of technology in education, which makes the distribution of a computer device to each student increasingly essential. Furthermore, more children are expected to possess computer skills such as searching information and programming that are demanded in current society and the authorities should provide financial support to promote their necessary skills and intelligence. Consequently, children will be provided with opportunities to discover different functions of computers, which will be useful in every aspect of their lives in the future. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the government should not spend much money on celebrations because they can be invested to provide children with individual computer devices so they are more likely to gain significant computer skills. However, since national celebrations also play a critical role in raising the awareness of cultures, the government is required to make a clever decision.