In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In recent times, mobile payments have been growing rapidly. Paying for goods and services through mobile phones is becoming popular not only in developed countries but also in many developing countries across the globe. This essay agrees that the advancement of digital payment is more advantageous than disadvantageous, and this will also discuss how cellular phone apps have lots of benefits and also go further to explain the challenges faced by paying for things using mobile phone apps. The biggest benefit offered by cellular phone apps is the convenience to pay for anything from anywhere. In this fast-paced world where everybody is struggling to find time, these applications have created an efficient and time-saving way to complete all the necessary payments electronically with just a couple of clicks. Moreover, these applications offer various cashback that helps people save a lot of money. For instance, the mobile payment app "PiggyVest" has made people's lives easier as they do not only have great offers, but they also make it possible to give exact change to the recipient without any hassle. On the contrary, the most challenge faced by this digital payment is the financial risk involved in the transactions. People have to key in their bank account details or debit card details before initiating any transaction and this is the kind of information hackers and fraudsters are looking for. Access to such confidential information can cause severe damage to one's financial stability. Several instances of fraudulent activities such as; breaches of financial databases of companies are reported in news every day. However, organisations are formulating various strategies such as, incorporating more encryption and antivirus solutions to make their applications robust and thereby reducing the risks involved. To conclude, the benefits offered by cellular applications certainly outweigh the downsides. With proper surveillance and safety protocol, their drawbacks can be limited to a great extent.