Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

In many major urban areas across the globe, overpopulation is a big menace. This is caused by, rural-urban migration, high birth rates and poor infrastructure planning. Some of the solutions to these causes include creating opportunities in rural areas, good urban planning and improving rural infrastructure. To begin with, rural-urban migration is the primary factor for overpopulation in most major cities. Many people are moving to urban areas in search of job opportunities. This is because many industries and government offices are concentrated in urban areas. For example, in Kenya, most industries are located in major cities of Nairobi, Kisumu and Mombasa, which has led to overpopulation in those cities. Secondly, high birth rates have contributed to overpopulation. Supported with better healthcare services, birth rates and survival rates have increased, exceeding death rates. Lastly, poor urban planning has led to inadequate infrastructure, resulting in congestion and straining of services. For example, in Nairobi, poor planning has led to the emergence of slums like Kibera. To eradicate this problem of overpopulation, here are some of the remedies that can be implemented: First off, governments should relocate industries to rural areas by providing subsidies on land and reducing taxes. This move will create job opportunities and make rural areas more attractive, thus discouraging rural-urban migration. Additionally, governments should improve rural infrastructure, making rural areas more accessible and easy to run day-to-day activities. Good urban planning, such as building affordable houses and expanding road infrastructure, can also help mitigate overpopulation. In conclusion, rural-urban migration, high birth rates, and poor infrastructure planning, which are some of the causes of overpopulation in urban centres, can be resolved by industrialisation of rural areas accompanied by building better infrastructure and, most importantly, better infrastructure planning.