Young people spend less of their free time with their family nowadays. What are the reasons for this? Are there more negative or positive sides to this trend?

Spending time with family is considered to be the driving force behind a healthy relationship. Advancements in technology and high workloads for parents have meant that young people spend less of their spare time together with their families. This can have adverse impacts on the family relationship, which I will cover in this essay. The principal reason for youths not spending adequate time with family members is the fact that they are social media addicts. Since social media sites and applications are instantly addictive, the vast majority of youngsters navigate through them all day long, leaving a small proportion of their time for family members. Another contributing reason for this phenomenon would be the need for their parents to multitask. Most parents tend to work day and night to provide their children with the best facilities feasible, which has resulted in less interaction with family members. The trend of less interaction with family members has had detrimental effects on the individual and family members. It is undeniable that spending time with family can strengthen the bond of our relationship. If there is a weak connection among family members, they are likely to become isolated and will start to dislike each other. This can also influence the youths adversely. Young people may become rebellious as they are not paid attention to and may feel ignored, which can also lead to poor academic performance. Therefore, the higher the frequency of shared time, the more stable and happy family we will have. In conclusion, there is no doubt that spending time with family members is intrinsic. Unfortunately, social networking and high workloads have prevented youths to spend enough time with their family members. This can make them a menace to society and their families and thus lower their performances in educational studies.