In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children who belong to certain cultures are being told that hard work can result in getting them what they desire. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this statement and convey why it is unnecessary to compel them to work hard. Firstly, one such advantage of saying children to work hard is motivation. These days, many juveniles lack the drive to do what they have to do in order to achieve greatness and stability in life. When adults speak to them about hard work and what it will bring to their lives it would ignite the spark in the children to put in the effort in their schools or in the institutions where they learn necessary skills. Consequently, setting up the path that is successful. Secondly, hard work also correlates with competition. When a child feels low about not getting good results compared to his/her peers, the child needs to increase their effort in the subjects that their lacking in. On the other hand, pushing a child to work hard can build up pressure and stress the child out. If children are subjected to pressure by their elders, they could lose focus and go into depression. It should be up to the children to decide if they want to work hard or not. Furthermore, it is true that hard work is not the only way individuals can achieve their dreams. Smart work always outperforms hard work. For instance, when solving a math equation, the smartest way to solve it is by using a calculator rather than wasting time doing it manually. In conclusion, although, hard work can influence children to be motivated and compete with their friends, it is vital to understand that it can lead to mental stress; and it is important for adults from certain cultures to acknowledge that smart work is a better option as opposed to hard work.