In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is becoming common for companies to highlight that their item is the newest in advertising. I believe there are two main reasons why some firms use this marketing strategy, and it has both cons and pros. In my view, there are two main reasons why the marketing department emphasises that their item is new. Firstly, they attempt to make it more attractive and profitable when displayed on the shelves. Take retailer products as an example; the most effective way is to advertise their items using the latest technology or designs to fascinate people. Secondly, it can create a new topic in the public stimulating purchases. Take Mcdonald's as an example, although the food is still delicious, the public taste will be boredom with the unchanged meals. Therefore, when a new product is introduced it can appeal to more consumers who like to test new things. The marketing strategy influences the public directly in various ways. On the one hand, customers with unlimited options may encourage some companies to develop outstanding products such as more delicious hamburgers and also get the motivation to improve technology in many ways. On the other hand, this promoting way probably boost buyers to spend on the newest products but not necessary. For instance, I am usually considering buying a new computer to replace my current one, even though it is still functional. In addition, as long as the number of obsolete devices increases, it will possibly turn into massive rubbish from millions of people and may result in a trash crisis. In conclusion, some companies promote their new item by pointing out that is up-to-date because they want to charm consumers to order. While the commercial way sometimes company with technological development, I do believe its negative effect on our society and environment more than its advantage.