Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, countries are becoming similar because people can purchase the same products from any time, anywhere. This impact has effects on different sectors such as cultures, economy and ethnicity. In this essay, we will discuss the pros and cons of globalisation and the reasons why advantages outweigh disadvantages. First of all, as technology is flourishing leaps and bounds, people can order anything they want within a few seconds and be able to get in their hands in a few days. Because of modern technologies, delivering things no more takes so much time to reach the customers via air cargo for example. Moreover, people around the world buy things that are advertised by celebrities. Since the movie stars use social media and via this, the same products are being sold to different parts of the world. But, what are the drawbacks? Since only the popular items are taking the market, the economy of the local business will be dropped down. Another plus point of becoming a global village is that people will no longer feel the pain of homesickness if they are away from their motherland since they can get their desired products even in a foreign country. For instance, Chinese people can eat traditional cuisine in a Chinese restaurant located in a different country. Moreover, many outlet malls are being opened in many countries so the public can spare extra expenses for travelling to another place to get branded items. In old age, if someone from a Western country visits Asia, they were considered strange people but in today's world, no one will feel weird by seeing someone from a different ethnic group. As a result, people will become closer to each other and discrimination will be faded in a long run because of similarities between them. To sum up, the world has shrunken and people are more connected to each other and have already accepted dissimilarities between them. Although that can result in more similar cultures and traditions, I think this can brings many opportunities than in the past.